Skip navigation

2006 is almost gone. I guess if I had to describe the year of 2006, I would have mixed feelings.

  • I lost a lot of leverage, yet I gained a lot of friends and experiences.
  • I lived on the East Coast, the West Coast and now in the Mid-South. (or whatever Texas is considered)
  • I feel more alone then ever, yet closer to God.
  • I’m hopeful for the future, yet becoming very impatient with the present.
  • My passion for the church is deep, my conviction that the world needs to see the real Jesus and not some fake religious mock-up drives me to my knees pleading that God will use me to be a voice that not only “deconstructs” but “reconstructs” the beautiful story of the gospel for my generation. If only they could see what I see?
  • I’m hoping 2007 will be better then 2006. Yet, I’m trying to embrace 2006 as a learning experience. It’s part of my wacky story, it makes me who I am. And for that I’m glad. I love individuality, it makes the world beautiful. We are not all the same, we do not have the same paths, callings, personalities…Therefore embrace who you are at this very moment.

So, in light of all this, below our some disciplines that I hope to instill. I think we have to learn how to “wait” on God, and yet take “action” and move forward with the vision and desires of the heart.

So when I think of 2007, one word comes to mind, and that is ADVANCE. Which is what I’m hoping to do. I want to advance forward, take risks, walk in my calling, trust God, be patient, stay on mission and see fruit. I hope the following disciplines will help me do that:

  1. One hour a day in prayer and study.
  2. Read 30 books in 2007.
  3. Fast 1 day per month.
  4. Take my girls on two “daddy-daughter” dates per month.
  5. 1 date-night per month with Necole.
  6. Work-out 5 days per week.
  7. Get back into school.
  8. Finish some writing projects.
    1. Why my first church failed and I’m still not giving up 🙂
    2. Finish my thoughts on church. (Worship, Theology & Mission)
    3. Finish “The church I dream of” manifesto.
  9. Start some new endeavors.
    1. Help End Local Poverty (Non-Profit)
    2. Church Plant in some way (build core team, keep learning about Austin etc)

I would like to use Help End Local Poverty as a way to connect with Austin and then launch a new church from those connections. Which may be 2007 or 2008, not for sure yet. (Of course there is one big issue that could change all this…I won’t go into details. But if this issue does become a reality, then I will put the vision of till 2008. Only time will tell)

So there you go, my semi-plan for 2007. Everything is not clear, yet its all becoming clearer. I long for fruit, I’m scared of failure, risk is all I know, the mundane is just to damn boring.

And no matter what, I’m going to continue to chase my dreams.

One Comment

  1. Chris,

    Sounds pretty great! I pray it will be a year to accomplish everything. I am reading Death by Suburb, by David L. Goetz right now, you should check it out. Take care my friend!

    Chad


Leave a Reply

