Skip navigation

1.jpeg

I had the privilege to get an advanced copy of The Big Idea. Yes, I feel special. No, really it was an honor. Thanks Dave for hooking me up.

The Big Idea: Focus The Message, Multiply The Impact was written by
Dave Ferguson, Eric Bramlett & Jon Ferguson.

I had a hunch that this book would be good. Especially from a “practical” standpoint. But I was taken back how the authors were able to weave theology & missionality within the context of The Big Idea. Therefore the book, in my opinion, had an even a deeper impact than I was expecting. I also enjoy the fact that the book was written by men who are actively engaged in the process. It’s not a history book about how they built a multi-site mega church and planted multiple churches in some of the least-church cities in America (Boston & NYC) 10 years ago. These boys are living within the mess and complexities of the Jesus mission via the local church. Which I think adds so much power and purpose to the book.

I also really like the “adaptability” of the book. It’s more fluid than stoic, and every church can take the ideas and principles and tweak them for their local community and environments.
This book can also “cross-pollinate” to various “streams” of church and even the business world. Whether your a mega-church, emerging church, church plant, or traditional/contemporary church, at the end of the day if you do a weekly gathering, then this book can quickly help you process that gathering and be more effective. And if the principles are followed, I think a lot of churches will see an overall improvement that will create a healthy local church culture. Good planning will help cause less stress and conflict, and increase the value of the church in their local community as we (church) strive to truly do our very best to communicate the Jesus story.

I think this book should be apart of every pastors library. Matter-of-fact, I think all church planting organizations should add this text to their “must reads” for future planters, it’s that helpful. I also like the fact the The Big Idea calls churches to be more effective, to become good stewards of our time and resources and to put our best foot forward as we try to serve the world and move the mission of Jesus forward.

You can also check out The BIG IDEA Resources & The BIG IDEA Blog.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Leadership Network Books on 13 Feb 2007 at 10:35 am

    new buzz. new blog.

    My intuition signaled me recently that in our information-overload kind of world, what stands out are things that are profoundly clear and simple. It looks like it’s happening for The Big Idea. Dave Ferguson reports The BIG IDEA Sells Out

Leave a Reply

