Skip navigation

139_madrid-outdoor-cafes.jpg

So after church we headed downtown to get some grub at Wahoo’s. Then we headed to Ruta Maya Coffee House for some fresh brew. Ruta Maya was having some really cool street salsa dancing. Looked fun and hard. But I love the community that was taking place. Lot’s fun and excitement.

Post SXSW was in full effect. So many people out and about enjoying the Sunday afternoon. I love that. I love third places. I think it’s important for churches to really create natural 3rd place environments. Spaces where we can enjoy, hang and discuss the God-life. This can’t happen in Sunday morning. And truthfully, I’m not real convinced it even happens in small groups or house churches. I think more then anything, this life and conversation takes place naturally in 3rd place environments. Maybe it’s because 3rd place interaction is natural. It’s not planned or forced.

I do think gatherings & small groups can and do have a positive impact. I just think the most important interaction needs to take place in more organic settings.

Leave a Reply

