Skip navigation

I keep hearing all these bloggers talk highly in regards to Jerry Falwell. Being one who did not grow up in church and also one who tends to be a moderate. (I guess) I always had a hard time with Jerry Falwell.

I usually only saw him defending the Christian right or something along those lines on some news program.

At church on Sunday Jeff said something so good.

He said, “We need to find the redemptive value in people.”

How true is that? I love it. I can enjoy folks who are liberal and conservative, urban and suburban, emerging and reformed. *gasp*

I’ve heard a lot of good things about JF today. I was a bit convicted by my past thoughts and assumptions.

I need to be more humble and open!

2 Comments

  1. from everything i’ve ever read/seen/heard of jerry falwell, let’s just say he was a little more “truth” than “grace”, which can obviously rub people the wrong way. not that being the extreme opposite is any better, but it is where so many postmodern’s seem to find themselves nowadays.

  2. Thanks for your post. Jerry Falwell was my chancelor in college and a personal friend. He also officiated my wedding in 2005. He truly loved people. The people who truly knew him as a regular person, loved him. Obviously, there are things he said he didn’t mean to say and probably stirred the waters a bit. But we are all guilty of that. He left a legacy for many people in the US and around the world through his ministry. He was one of the most influential people in my life in regards to following hard after Christ. I like what Jeff said- isn’t it so true that we are quick to be so critical, when we need to find the redemptive value in people. Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

