Skip navigation

Whoops-I forgot to post my final thoughts on staying creative.

For part 1 go here and for part two go here.

7. Coffee: Good coffee is absolutely necessary. I drink my coffee black so if you put a ton of cream and sugar then good coffee may not be so good!

8. Rest: Usually once or twice a month I hit a wall. When I hit the wall I just stop and chill and I don’t feel bad about it. Also, I do my best not to think about ministry at least one day per week. I don’t always accomplish my goal, but I try my best to free my mind. Ministry is a never ending maze that has no finish line. Another words, it’s a marathon and I have to embrace being creative over the long-haul.

9. Active Lifestyle: Yes that’s right, when you feel better about yourself, you will be more creative. Also, I sleep better which helps me think better. Being outdoors brings inspiration. I long to be in nature, to hear the sound of waves or birds or look into the sky and stare at the various formations. Creativity comes from God and nature shows God’s artwork and I think He really embraces when humanity expresses beauty and imagination.

10. Eat right: Again, I feel better about myself when I eat right. It’s a stewardship issue. I have energy, my mind is clear and I feel like I’m doing what’s best for me and my body.

BONUS THOUGHT:

Pl

7. Coffee: Good coffee is absolutely necessary.

8. Rest: Usually once or twice a month I hit a wall. When I hit the wall I just stop and chill and I don’t feel bad about it. Also, I do my best not to think about ministry at least one day per week. I don’t always accomplish my goal, but I try my best to free my mind. Ministry is a never ending maze that has no finish line. Another words, it’s a marathon and I have to embrace being creative over the long-haul.

9. Active Lifestyle: Yes that’s right, when you feel better about yourself, you will be more creative. Also, I sleep better which helps me think better. Being outdoors brings inspiration. I long to be in nature, to hear the sound of waves or birds or look into the sky and stare at the various formations. Creativity comes from God and nature shows God’s artwork and I think He really embraces when humanity expresses beauty and imagination.

10. Eat right: Again, I feel better about myself when I eat right. It’s a stewardship issue. I have energy, my mind is clear and I feel like I’m doing what’s best for me and my body.

BONUS THOUGHT:

I’m still searching for a good work-week rhythm. Right now I take two days off, Friday & Saturday. But two days in a row is hard for me. I would rather work to be frank. Plus It’s hard not to think about Sunday on Friday & Saturday. Also, sometimes on Monday I just have no energy. So I think if I split my days it may bring more focus and clarity?

For pastors it just seems complicated to really get a good rhythm when you work on Sunday. Of course my wife in off on Mondays so that helps.

I’m sure I can add some more. But those are ten simple ways that I keep my creative juices flowing.

One Comment

  1. Love coffee. Like it black, but love my half & half and sugar in the Raw, too.

    Keep staying creative, Chris. I think this is hard no matter what one’s profession or occupation.


Leave a Reply

