Skip navigation

200px-portuguese_man-o-war_physalia_physalis.jpg So I’ve heard rumors about these bad boys: Portuguese Man o’ War. Therefore I decided to do some research and this is what I found:

The sting from the tentacles is potentially dangerous to humans; these stings have been responsible for several deaths, but usually only cause *excruciating* pain. Detached tentacles and specimens washed up on shore can sting just as painfully as the full creature in the water, for weeks after detachment. The venom can travel up to the lymph nodes and may cause, depending on the amount of venom, more intense pain. In extreme cases medical attention is necessary.

For real-I’m scared to death…I would love to stay home, if I only I could get my money back from the hotel and somehow convince my girls that the beach we are going to is not the kind of beach we are used to.

One Comment

  1. LOL! i cant wait to hear how this goes…i’m sure wilmington is sounding a little bit better at this point, eh? ha!


Leave a Reply

