Skip navigation

egyptsmall.jpg

This post is a follow-up to my 1st post on why I’m going to Egypt.

Part two is a bit more practical.

5. Adventure: This can be scary. I feel like God has called me to go. At the same time Necole and I are committed to living life to the full. We want to experience many places, people and cultures. Sometimes it’s hard to find God in the mundane rhythm of the daily grind. So we need to break-away and get a fresh perspective.

6. Stories: Again I don’t want folks to get the wrong idea, but when you lead and communicate on a weekly basis it’s vital to live a life worth telling about. We deeply think Vista and Austin can be shaped by stories of God using us. I can’t wait to hear about the Cofield’s East Asia trip, or Liz, who is currently serving in the Middle East right now. These stories shape us as a faith community.

7. America/Austin: I can’t tell you how many conversations I’ve had about Africa with those who don’t follow Jesus. They always ask me why I went and I always respond with, “because that’s what I think Jesus would do.” I love it. We are a church that deeply cares about social issues and we believe the only hope is Jesus. Yet we also understand that we have be the “hands and feet” of Jesus and serve on practical levels of life. Food, clean water, education and war, these are spiritual issues that must be engaged by the church.

8. Egypt: Can you say BIBLE. As one who teaches the Bible I can not tell you how amazing it’s going to be to actually be in a country like Egypt. Jesus was taken to Egypt as a baby so he would not be slaughtered. This will be my first time being in the middle of a Middle Eastern culture. The Bible is a story that was penned in the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

