Skip navigation

Jeff shared his thoughts on church yesterday which I concur. Some additional thoughts:

  • Simplicity is king. Vista has a ton of momentum. I think the reason behind this is vision and simplicity. We are focused and doing things well, not perfect but much better.
  • Team: I think we will see less and less the “superstar” guy leading the church. It takes a deep team of talented and passionate people to do church well. This is why I love the Elder/Deacon model as opposed to the corporate model. God gets the glory and it’s hard to become prideful as a leader.
  • Missional is an over-used word. And I think most churches assume they are missional if they have a good gathering, people attend small group and they do some mission work throughout the year. On many levels I would agree. But truthfully you can have all that and not be missional. I think we’re getting to the point where Vista peeps  understand that being missional means you give up your life for the sake of the Call and to serve humanity.
  • Help End Local Poverty had helped create some great momentum. I have unchurched families wanting to serve in Africa. We are looking to do some great stuff here in Austin. I want to network and help rebuild New Orleans. I want to do this with Christians, non-Christians and those of other-religions all for the glory of Jesus.
  • We are asking a very important question: How do we start missional works in natural domains. Where is God moving and how do we get on board? It’s not about programs its about everyday Christ-followers who are already doing great things for the Kingdom.
  • We want to be spiritual: I want to be known as a man of prayer, study and mission. I don’t want to be seen as some corporate spiritual CEO. If for some crazy reason Help End Local Povery raises 5 million dollars in 5 years. I want folks to attribute that to God, prayer, wisdom and faith first and foremost.
  • People want to be involved in something bigger than normal. The Jesus story is massive…But few Christians truly buy into the whole story and what in means to be a student of Jesus. When they fully understand this concept,  life happens, God works and things change.
  • It’s not about a cool service with great teaching, hip music and good food. We have to focus more on humanity and service first. The gathering and small groups are add-ons to the mission. Good churches are a dime-a-dozen. Missional church seem rare indeed. Please don’t take this wrong-but I just feel like pastors assume they will have a great church if they start a Sunday experience. To me this is an old-tired model and our generation sees right through that and they are not impressed or moved.

We’re still a small church that is struggling to find our way. But we also feel like we are understanding our role and how we want to do church. And that brings me a lot of hope.

2 Comments

  1. Missional is an over-used word. And I think most churches assume they are missional if they have a good gathering, people attend small group and they do some mission work throughout the year.

    I disagree. I think most people think they are missional if they preach in jeans and sing U2 songs.

  2. Hmmm…Not sure the “jeans and U2” applies to my thoughts. However, I would agree with you also on the “jeans and U2” theory. It’s not either or, it’s both in my book.

    Although I do love jeans and U2 🙂


Leave a Reply

