Skip navigation

This afternoon Jeff and I had a phone meeting with David Fairchild who is an Elder at Kaleo Church in paradise San Diego. We’ve been impressed with Kaleo and how they do ministry as they seem to be a church that is really trying to start a movement by doing church in various domains in SD and not just a Sunday attraction. Although they do have Sunday experiences. I guess they are a model to us. We can have Sunday gathering, but also build a missional DNA and not let Sunday become a bottleneck in which a bunch of Christians listening to some “cool” speaker talk about missional living.

I’ve said it before, but It’s so vital to learn from other leaders. It’s also important to realize that all leaders and churches are struggling to go to the next level. Church planting is messy, it’s hard, you have to adapt on the fly. You can read books and attend conferences and listen to podcasts, but the best form of learning comes from conversations from those who are in the midst of church planting. They understand the frustrations and wars that a planter goes through. That is priceless in my book.

So props to David Fairchild for spending time with us, we learned a lot and gained much encouragement.

3 Comments

  1. Spot on mate, I didn’t hear back from you since I last replied to your e-mail. I think your concerns are right on. there has to be balance and beauty about calling people to something more.

    I’d love to talk to you more about this.

    I’m here in NYC for Q, then Orlando for NNCC and back at home in NYC for Dwell over the next three weeks. if you’re around I got coffee for our chat.

    holla,

    E

  2. Hey Chris, Kaleo Church in SD is greatness. If you don’t already read Drew Goodmanson at http://www.goodmanson.com, you need to take a look. He is an elder at Kaleo and a catalyst for innovation. He isn’t blogging as much as he use to but his archives are worth looking at.

    Also, check out Jeff Vanderstelt at Soma Communities in Tacoma, WA. http://www.tacoma.somacommunities.org

    I have a question for you. Do you think it is possible to be both incarnational and attractional? As in, a strong church member missional mindset AND a strong Pastor communicator with good worship that brings people in the front door? Happy to discuss offline if you prefer.

    Blessings brother.

  3. Jacob,

    Man I do believe you can have both. I’ll try and blog my thoughts on this soon. I think we have enough models proving that it can be done-but I still have concerns.


Leave a Reply

