Skip navigation

No church for me…So I’m home for the fourth straight day. The good news is that I got a lot done while being at home. But I’m ready to get my normal life back. 

So I have a question. I’m writing a series on the gospel. 6-7 posts…Hopefully I will be done sometime in the summer. Anyhow, here is my questions:

The gospel is a story of movement and action because it create a culture of redemption and restoration in the midst of brokenness.”  Maybe it’s just me…But somehow the “CHURCH” in American (and Europe I suppose) have lost the sense of mission and adventure. 

We call people to surrender to Jesus. But what is that suppose to look like? We live in a cubicle world filled with so many mundane activities like working, kids and caring for the home. On one hand this is good. But for most people I think we want to break free from a mundane life. The tension of course is we have to do the mundane, right? 

So how does the church not become a mundane experience? How do we call people to live a greater life filled with purpose, passion and adventure? Are we asking to little from those who follow Jesus? 

Thoughts? 

6 Comments

  1. YES, we’re asking too little of people! I think one of the greatest heresies being perpetrated by the American church these days is the notion that the Gospel is about raising strong families or keeping kids from having sex until marriage. Good and well as those things may be, that’s NOT the message.

    The way to solve the problem is for churches to make the main thing the main thing – to start talking about what Jesus meant when he said the kingdom of God was near, to do justice and love mercy, and to remember that it’s ultimately about redeeming love and grace.

  2. I think we need to be really careful about assuming that the “cubicle world” is the definition of mundane or the antithesis of “mission and adventure.”

    Granted I occassionally complain about my job, but it is anything but mundane. And if want to talk about local and global influence, I spend hours each week with coworkers in Austin as well as South America, Canada, India, etc. I may never get to mention the name of Jesus in a conversation, but I get a more than enough opportunities to display love and grace in a broken and very difficult environment.

    So how does the church not become mundane? I think we need to stop reinventing the wheel. We need to look more to older, wiser Christians in the church rather than over-glorified “emergent leaders” and see how the previous generations have lived. Yes, some have failed, but some have amazing stories of missional living and we’re just not asking them to disciple, teach and encourage those of us who have yet to figure it out.

  3. Texas,

    I so agree…Which kinda connect to Kayla point. We have to redeem the mundane and find mission in that routine. Yet still love mercy and do justice.

    Kayla,

    As always I love your thoughts. I wish you would blog more.
    I think there is a tension in understanding that we have to redeem the mundane. Yet we also have to escape the mundane and be free. As I get older (with kids) I feel like life is so fast..Everyday is go go go.

    Yet the cubicle world is our reality. And its not bad…But I just wish we had a greater balance. More time away to fresh and renew.

  4. The problem is that the gospel has gotten watered down. While we may have to work, we can see our jobs as a mission field (not where we are out to “win” souls for Christ at every chance – that can lead to people feeling like they are just a goal or a target for us, but rather where we seek to be Jesus to the people around us). We can stop focusing our energies on our homes and our recreational activities – these do not have to be a big part of our lives. It is a fallacy to believe that homes, and recreation, and the like are things we “have” to invest our time in. Rich Mullins lived simply, in a trailer, before he died. Manyother Christians choose to live simply as well. The problem is not that the gospel is mundane, but that we want to satisfy our selfish cravings too often, thus watering down the gospel and making it mundane.

    So, here is my suggestion: Do a personal assessment and look at where all of your time goes. Then, start saying to yourself, Am I doing those things because Christ in me is willing me to do them for God’s Kingdom? Then, reorder your life accordingly. And, find some “exciting” ministry/mission things to do that touch upon your passions. You may have those passions and interests because God has gifted you in a certain way. Use your giftings and serve others!

    But, remember this, the real essence of the gospel is to remember that it is no longer you who live, but it is Christ who lives in you, and, therefore, your calling is to love people as Christ would. That is our calling, and how people will know you are His disciple.

  5. Hey, Chris, I just realized a couple of interesting points after I posted my comments earlier.

    First, I just listened to your message on the Vista Community website from a few weeks back and realized that you quoted Galatians 2:20 in it (which is what I referenced in my post above). I had no idea of the value of that verse to you when I mentioned it above. It just happens to be my “life verse” from scripture. Hmmmm…. it seems God may be hammering that point home….

    Second, I realized you are located in Austin. So am I. Small world. I live too far away to attend Vista Community, but I have emailed some of my freinds that live north to encourage them to check it out.

    Peace brother….

  6. Craig,

    Love Gal 2:20. Its the scripture that sets the pace for my life. Love Austin, if we can do anything to serve your friends let us know.

    Shalom


Leave a Reply

