Skip navigation

Its early Monday morning. I just spent time doing some devotions (hate that word) and getting my kids ready for another week at school. Usually I write my blog-posts on Saturday. But not this week. 

I was having a phone conversation last week with a friend about HELP. He wanted to know my vision for the organization. I told him more then anything I want HELP to bring glory to Jesus.  I know a lot of of non-profits shy away from theology and mission. They become incognito Christians. I get the “why” behind this philosophy as I’ve wrestled through the same set-of-questions. 

Here is my conviction. HELP is not just about social justice. It’s about the church doing what we are called to do. Which is to love people with a deep sense of conviction and sacrifice. I want to be the hands and feet of Jesus. I want Jesus to become famous through this organization. My hope is that people won’t hear the love of Jesus, but they will see the love of Jesus through the action of His followers. 

The church gets so much bad press and for good reason. It drives me crazy because the media tends to focus on all the negatives that the church-world creates. 

So my prayer for HELP is that we might help rewrite the script of what people think of Jesus and His church. That being said I really think many people who don’t consider themselves Christians will still take part in the organization. When we serve local/global communities their will be “no-stings-attached” to our service.

So in short-when we leave a project or community. I want those people to know that Jesus showed up through a bunch of imperfect people. I want them to know that we loved, served, sacrificed and worked hard.  Why? Because we care.

Yes we can bring food and shelter or maybe even clean water. But at the end of the day if we don’t bring Jesus-then we’re just another aid organization. And my conviction is simple-the cross is what will change everything. So let’s pick-up our cross and walk in the darkest places of the world and pitch-a-tent and love people in the name of Jesus.

3 Comments

  1. God Bless You. Keep up the good work

  2. Chris,

    I really love the heart of what you are doing here. It is refreshing for me to read this as we are completing some of our marketing materials, and are concerned that our ‘mandate’ (Psalm 96:3) is not quite really sexy…Perhaps Jesus isn’t concerned so much with sexy as he is with the heart of what we are trying to join Him in? I hope so. Keep it up.

    Peace,
    Justin

  3. Yup.


Leave a Reply

