Skip navigation

Last night Necole and I made our way downtown to see the viewing for Call & Response. After dropping off the kids at grandma’s and picking up some coffee at Medici we made our way over to the theater.

It was great to see Charles and his son. I also finally got to meet one of my favorite bloggers Texas In Africa.

As for the rockumentry. It was really good. I think they did a great job of creating beauty and pain through music & story. Was it heartbreaking? Yes! But I did not feel totally overwhelmed…But I did feel educated and I think that is vital to promote long-term activism is the sex-trafficking industry.

Justin Dillon is the man behind the film. I really sensed he had deep compassion for the issue. This was not about a movie but a cause. Along with many others including Gary Haugen if IJM,, David Batstone of the Not For Sale Campaign and actress Ashly Judd.

The music was awesome. Great performances by Matisyahy, Imogen Heap, Cold War Kids, Rocco Deluca, Natasha Bedingfield and Switchfoot. (Hope I did not forget anyone)

I love what Cornel West said:

Justice is what love looks like in public.

If you missed last nights show. You can still see it in Austin Oct 17-23. Call & Response opens nationally across America today.  Click here for your city’s showing. It’s vital for us to support this film and bring this tragedy out-in-the-open. Another way you can help is by adding a banner to your social media sites.

Something powerful happens when you add music, story and compassion. We can make a tangible difference. I hope and pray that the church will be on the front-lines fighting for justice and freedom for those enslaved. This is simply an issue that can’t be ignored.

Leave a Reply

