Skip navigation

So I really love my home office. I’ve been working from home for close to a month now. There are many pro’s and con’s. But with all the new Web 2.0 tools, it makes it easier. I use Basecamp, Things, Skype & iChat all day long. Also, I still feel connected with Facebook and Twitter. 

I try to get out daily. Head to coffee-shops such as Sodade or Thunderbirds or schedule one or two lunch appointments a week. This is huge so I don’t become like a zombie. 

Pro’s

  • It’s convenient. Everything is always close to me. Phone, fax, key documents etc. I never have to “run to the office” to pick stuff up. 
  • No commute: This is so huge. I save time and money everyday. 
  • Kids: I watch my kids everyday after school. I still get to work and I don’t have to pay someone to care for my kids. Win-win. 
  • Cost: I don’t have to drive, save wear and tear on my car. I eat lunch from home and coffee is cheap. 
  • Productivity: I’m able to get a lot done. I just focus and go for it everyday. 
  • Forces me to be in the community. 

Con’s

  • Sometimes I don’t have an “off” switch. 
  • I don’t have time to switch from work to being at home. 
  • I get bored at times. 
  • No one else is around to chat with. 
  • Sometimes I work to much. I can work all day, eat dinner and hang with the family. But then I go back into the office and work late-nights. This is both good and bad. After a few “3AM” nights I’ve had to learn to “shut-it-off” no matter what. 

I love having a home-office. I still miss being around an office filled with lots of people. There are benefits for sure. Someday I hope to have that again. But for now I’m content and feel productive.

One Comment

  1. buy yourself a timer. it will really help.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Mobile Office « Simply Missional on 13 Nov 2008 at 3:38 pm

    […] Simply Missional Learning :: Becoming :: Failing To Live A Missional Life Stuff I DigAboutContactResourcesH.E.L.P. « Home Office-Good or Bad […]

Leave a Reply

